2015 Honoree, Jim and Ellen Tressel

2015 Honoree, Jim and Ellen Tressel

Jim Tressel served as head coach of the Youngstown State Penguins from 1986 to 2000 and the Ohio State Buckeyes from 2001 to 2011, winning five national championships between the two schools. Tressel is currently the president of Youngstown State University (YSU).

He was born in Mentor, Ohio and attended Baldwin–Wallace College, where he played football as quarterback under his father. He was hired by the Ohio State University prior to the start of the 2001 season. During his tenure as Ohio State's 22nd head football coach, Tressel's teams competed in three BCS National Championship Games, and his 2002 squad won a national title, achieving the first 14–0 season record in major college football since UPenn went 15–0 in 1897.

Tressel finished his career at Ohio State with an official overall record of 94–22 (.810), including six Big Ten Conference championships, a 5–4 bowl record, a 4–3 mark in BCS bowl games, and an 8–1 record against the arch-rival Michigan Wolverines. Tressel's eight wins against Michigan place him second in school history to Woody Hayes, who had 16, and he is the only Ohio State head coach to win seven consecutive games against the Wolverines.

From September 2011 until February 2012, Tressel was a consultant for the Indianapolis Colts of the NFL. From 2012–2014 Tressel served as Vice President of Strategic Engagement for the University of Akron, before being named as Youngstown State University President on May 9, 2014.

Coaching Career Highlights (Youngstown State, Ohio State)


  • 1 Division I-A National Title (2002)
  • 4 Division I-AA National Titles (1991, 1993, 1994, 1997)
  • 1 Ohio Valley Conference Title (1987)
  • 6 Big Ten Titles (2002, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009)


  • 12 different Coach of the Year awards (1991, 1993, 1994, 1997, 2002, 2010)

Coaching Awards

  • 1975 Baldwin–Wallace College Athletic Hall of Fame inductee
  • 1991, 1994, and 2002 American College Football Association Coach of the Year
  • 1993, 1994, and 1997 Chevrolet National Coach of the Year
  • 1994 Eddie Robinson Award
  • 2002 Bobby Dodd Coach of the Year Award
  • 2002 Paul "Bear" Bryant Award
  • 2002 Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year
  • 2002 Pigskin Club of Washington D.C. National Coach of the Year
  • 2002 Sporting News College Football Coach of the Year
  • 2002 and 2006 Touchdown Club of Columbus Woody Hayes Trophy
  • 2008 Baldwin–Wallace College named its football field "Tressel Field" to honor his family's affiliation with the school's football team
  • 2010 Columbus Dispatch Ohio College Football Coach of the Year

The Tressel Tree (former Assistants who became Head Coaches)

  • Tim Beckman, Illinois
  • Mark Dantonio, Michigan State
  • Luke Fickell, Ohio State
  • Darrell Hazell, Purdue
  • Jon Heacock, Youngstown State
  • Mark Mangino, Kansas
  • Mark Snyder, Marshall
  • Paul Haynes, Kent State

Special Thanks to Our Sponsors